Skip to content

night baking

August 21, 2011

It’s Sunday….and a hot summer night in Beantown.  Dinner’s over and all else is quiet except for the the whirr of the dishwasher and Cole Porter softly playing on the Roku.   For most,  it’s time to hunker down and prepare for the workweek.  That, or perhaps rebel in protest and nestle into a soft spot on the couch for some mediocre TV.  For me, I’m breaking the routine tonight as my inner night owl rolls up her sleeves in preparation for making a royal mess of the kitchen.

I’m not a clean cook by any stretch of the imagination, and unfortunately you can find me at my worst when pie crust is involved.  By the time it’s all over, the counters are smeared with a floury coating; smashed bits of dough stuck to the floor, the cabinets, and sometimes nearby walls.   If I murdered the Pillsbury doughboy, this might be the crime scene.  It typically goes something like this:

K (star witness):   ” What happened in here?”

Me (dropping pastry cutter on floor): “I blacked out!  I don’t know how this happened!”

well here’s how it happened:

GRANDMA’S BLACKBERRY PIE

1. CRUST.  I’d follow your own favorite unless you don’t have one.  My Grandma uses the recipe from the old 1950’s Betty Crocker picture cookbook, which is what I used.  But I substituted butter in place of shortening or lard, and I froze the butter first after cutting it into half-inch cubes (the brains behind Martha Stewart’s recipes taught me that…it makes the crust extra flaky).  Another great pie crust recipe (french, tricky) can be found here.

2. FILLING.  Mix 4c fresh blackberries with 2/3c sugar, 4-5 tbs flour, and 1/2 tsp cinnamon.  Bake 35-45 minutes @ 425 degrees.  Let stand overnight to set.

One Comment leave one →
  1. joannE. permalink
    August 23, 2011 1:11 am

    That beautiful pie looks absolutely mouthwatering!

Leave a Reply

