Skip to content

sunday morning frattuiche

September 18, 2011

Since Labor Day, I’ve been fiercely battling the stages of grief over summer coming to a close. First, denial: “This chilly night is totally a fluke.” Then anger: “Putting pumpkin soup on your menu this early is LAME!” To bargaining: “If I lay out in 70 degree weather, maybe it will trick me into thinking it’s still summer!” Then depression: “My tan is so gone.” And this morning, I think I’ve finally reached acceptance: I woke up under the blankets with a cold nose. We left the windows open last night and the autumn air crept in like an eerie fog.  Even Ivy, who usually finds a mindnight perch somewhere to watch the alley cats quarrel, surrendered her window sill to curl up in a warm spot  between me and K.   It took a morning like this for me to finally accept the fact that Fall is in the air…and I am ready to welcome her back to our home.

On the rare occasion that I’m up before K, I like to put the coffee on and lure him out of bed with the smell of bacon.   This morning I really wanted to make quiche, but didn’t have any pastry dough handy (nor was I in the mood to make some from scratch).  Instead I opted to make the quiche without the crust in a cake pan…which makes it a deep dish frittata of sorts.  I decided to name my fluffy hybrid concoction “Frattuiche.” (say it: frah-TEESH)  Served with whole grain toast, hot coffee and our favorite program, CBS Sunday morning.  Robes, slippers and blankets highly recommended for added coziness.  Bring on the fall!

SUNDAY MORNING FRATTUICHE

6 organic cage-free eggs  |  1 cup heavy cream  |  4-5 strips bacon, diced, fried & drained of fat  |  handful fresh green veggies (broccoli, asparagus, or in my case spinach)  |  3 small cooked potatoes ( I used yukon gold & red bliss leftover from last night’s dinner)  |  1/2 cup of your favorite shredded cheese (cheddar, gruyere, swiss) or soft cheese (cream, goat)  |  fresh ground pepper

Preheat oven to 375.  Whisk eggs and cream in a large bowl.  Layer potatoes, bacon and veggies on bottom of a greased cake pan or fry pan.  Pour egg mixture over meat & veggies.  Finish by sprinkling fresh ground pepper and cheese over the mixture.  Bake for 25-35 minutes.  Slice and serve in pie-wedges.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Margo permalink
    September 28, 2011 12:17 am

    Even though I just ate a filling supper (quite late due to jelly making), I am quite licking my chops thinking about Sunday coming around and whipping up this fabulous concoction! What a treat this would be… heavy on the starch and potato side for S and hints of lovely veges for me. Thanks for the idea N!

  2. Margo permalink
    September 28, 2011 12:21 am

    Oh! …and very compelling photos. Nice job to le chef! I feel like I am sitting in the TV studio for the cooking channel.

  3. Hallie permalink
    September 29, 2011 12:03 pm

    I’ve been coming back to this post every Thursday and Friday for the past two weeks in anticipation of a lazy weekend with a dish like this! It’s been rainy in NYC all week and nothing spells out comfort more than these photographs. Can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

