Skip to content

extra special pistachio cupcakes

October 4, 2011

Good morning and Happy Birthday to me!  Remember the days when the only responsibility you had on your birthday involved making sure your homeroom classmates each got a cupcake? [sigh]… I wish that was the only thing I had to do today. Instead, I’ve got to head north to visit a client…but guess what, folks? I’m taking some cupcakes with me. [Insert here a little nod to Hereford Elementary for teaching me a thing or two about spreading joy with baked goods].  I should also mention that these are mini cupcakes, too, so even the dieters can indulge in this scaled-down version of your typical sugar-bomb.

My husband knows that I adore all things pistachio – most of all the ridiculous shade of green this flavor always happens to be when I spot it on a gelato cart in Boston’s North End. (It sort of reminds me of Ecto Cooler Hi-C. You 80’s kids know what I’m talking about, right? There are actually over 7,000 fans on facebook!)  Anyway, in order to recreate this fun color in my cupcakes without including questionable ghostbuster chemicals, I needed a special combination of over-priced vegetable dye food coloring.  Hmm. No thanks.  In the end, a surprising and healthy combination of raw spinach and yellow cake mix did the trick.  NO, you can’t taste the spinach.  Everybody just relax – you’ll love it.

GREEN PISTACHIO BIRTHDAY CUPCAKES

– 1 box of yellow cake mix
– 1 c fresh spinach, rinsed and drained
– 1 c water
– 1/2 c coconut or canola oil and three eggs (or whatever combination your cake mix requires)
– 2 tsp almond extract
– 1 c raw shelled pistachios
– 1 container prepared buttercream icing

Blend 1 c water with spinach until smooth and set aside.  Toast raw pistachios in a hot dry pan for 3 minutes, tossing frequently.  Pulse the nuts in a food chopper for a course chop, and set aside.   Prepare cake using instructions on back of box (the only difference is that the water you need is now green).  Before pouring into baking cups, stir the nuts into the batter along with 1 tsp almond extract.  Bake as instructed.  Once cupcakes have fully cooled, mix prepared icing with remaining almond extract, spread on top and finish with a sprinkle of the toasted nuts.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2011 8:27 am

    These look sooo yummy!! I am going to try them. GREAT blog Nikki!!

  2. October 6, 2011 8:28 am

    Oh and check out Naturally Nora’s cake mixes online. All natural t’boot!!

Leave a Reply

