Skip to content

Eat More Kale!

December 4, 2012

KALE…. I absolutely love it.   Years ago I thought its only practical use was as a garnish on Weis’ catering platters.   Now, it’s my most frequently purchased green at the grocery store – easily beating out my old stand-by’s,  green leaf lettuce and baby spinach.

When I first tried Kale I think I had it sautéed, which really wasn’t  much more exciting than your standard prepared collard greens.   Cooked, it loses it’s sturdy shape and vibrant green hue, part of what I think makes it special in the first place.  But raw, kale is a superfood showcased at its very finest;   incredibly nutrient dense and a downright gorgeous green.   I have a number of ways  I like to incorporate kale into my weekly diet…  here are just a few:

1. dressed up for the holidays in a simple salad with pommegranate seeds, almonds, and my favorite vinaigrette 

2. blended into my morning smoothie of raw oats, banana, and almond milk (kale ribs removed before blending for better texture)

3. tossed with olive oil, sea salt and sumac and baked in the oven at a low temp for perfect tangy kale chips

4. finely sliced as a chiffonade, tossed right into hot pasta with shrimp & garlic

5. drizzled with raita as a healthy accompaniment to my regular indian takeout order

6. cooked this time – thrown into a pot of any tomato-based soup, like this one

Last but not least, I’ll leave you with a little story from a while back:   Did you happen to hear about the poor VT man who got bullied by Chick-fil-a for selling his “Eat More Kale” T-shirts to promote his small business?  It’s funny –  I actually had to google “Chick-Fil-A” to figure out how that was even spelled, so if it isn’t totally obvious, now you know which side of the argument I stand on.   What a sin!  I may have to buy one of those T-shirts….

KALE 2

Kale Chips

Kale Chips

Sumac

Sumac

Holiday Kale Salad

Holiday Kale Salad

raw kale chiffonade in scampi

raw kale chiffonade in scampi

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

